Let’s Answer the Why

Friedrich-Nietzsche-Live-Quotes-300x225

Since I’ve started writing this blog, I’ve realized alot of my focus has been on the HOW I’m gonna get my MBA (or at least get into a program) and a little bit of the BECAUSE ( I want to pursue…), but I have yet to really express the WHY.

I feel like the WHY is overlooked by many people when expressing their desires to go to business school, myself included, but now that I’m filling out my The Criteria spreadsheet,  I wanted to take the time to share the reasons I’ve listed thus far.

It’s easy to say the conventional things like: make more money, advance in a current career or switch to a new one, develop leadership skills, network. And honestly, those are some of my reasons to, but not as top tier as they are for some people. This list is not in any particular order.

1. Build new friendships
2. Travel and satisfy my inner wanderlust
3. Refocus my career goals
4. Become an expert in the healthcare industry
5. Learn from others’ experiences
6. Take time to reflect on what I want to accomplish in life not just career wise
7. Make a name for myself
8. Be more involved politically, socially, and globally
9. Make my family proud (I am the first college graduate on my mom’s side of the family, and the only person in my family to even attempt going to graduate school)
10. Be a role model to other young African American girls with a dream
11. Challenge myself. I’m a geek.. I like to learn

Even though I decided to apply to MBA programs back in May, after realizing just how much goes into the application process, I feel like even then was too late. It has been quite the ride thus far, but I am so thankful all of you have come along with me. I’ve grown so much since my first posts and I must admit, at first I wasn’t exactly sure why I wanted to get an MBA and what I’d even do with it. But now I’m so glad that I not only know, but I’m so excited.

As I’ve already stated, my short term goal is to work in a corporate finance role at a big pharma/biotech company in California. One of my goals this summer has been reading at least one healthcare industry article per day to enhance my knowledge of the industry and stay up to date on things. I’m not always the best at sticking to a plan and tend to stray after awhile, but I must say, this was probably the best goal I’ve made thus far, and have successfully stuck with it. Sometimes I have a hard time pulling myself away from the WSJ because I want to read every article I see. I feel like a nerd because I find the healthcare industry so compelling.

I’ve also expressed via this blog how I was struggling to come up with a long term goal and being that most admissions essays ask you to describe this in detail, I knew I needed to come up with someone rather soon. Through this exercise, I’ve finally starting to form an idea of what I want to do.. Head of Finance in Research and Development. I know this is quite a lofty dream, but that’s what a long term goal is suppose to be right, something so unlikely and yet so rewarding, that you wake up everyday hoping you’re just a little step closer to achieving it.

I’ve been doing a lot of introspection lately and I realized how more than anything, i want to inevitably use an MBA to make a difference. My youngest brother was diagnosed with a disorder called Neurofibromatosis 1 (NF-1) at birth and while physically he hasn’t suffered too much thus far, mentally i know he struggles and will continue to, especially once puberty hits. It’s something I don’t like to talk about very often because it makes me cry and I worry about the life he will lead, how it will affect him and future relationships, and if his condition will get worse, because it’s a disorder that really can’t be treated or cured, just monitored.

If only I wasn’t completely inept in science, I would’ve studied Biology in undergrad. But if I could be a part of an organization dedicated to developing cures and treatments to diseases that have affected the lives of so many of our loved ones, and eventually use my knowledge and network after working in the industry to lead my own foundation for raising funds to aid research as well as help those in need pay for treatment, I would be so fulfilled. (We’ve all seen Breaking Bad.. We know what the struggle will do to you)

“I cannot do all the good that the world needs. But the world needs all the good that I can do.”  – Jana Stanfield

Posted on July 22, 2014, in Careers, My Journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Great post, and even greater reasons! You are going to do great!

  2. It’s brilliant, how well you have listed your why’s? I am sure it also has to do with the inner drive within you that comes from your personal experience. Also sometimes it also helps to find the reasons behind those reasons. For instance your 1st reason for building friendship comes from your ability to trust and being ready to explore with different people from different culture. I can see number two as an answer to curiosity within you, so on and so forth. Although we don’t pay attention to our personality traits while listing downs our wishes, they play an important part while answering questions in interviews. Just my two cents. Good luck with the applications!!

  3. Hi. This is great stuff! I wrote a pretty loose ‘why an MBA’ vision in my blog a few weeks back (http://topdogmba.com/2014/07/10/come-together/ – sorry for the shameless plug) and the overlap between applicants is amazing.

    Knowing deep inside why you want an MBA is important but, as GrantMe Admissions says, it’s essential to link everything together perfectly in your essays. My best essay was the one that set out my goals, what I hoped to gain (personally and professionally – yep, it was Wharton) and then peppered every paragraph with a reason for choosing the school.

    For example, when I spoke about my experience leading a team through a difficult project, I also wrote about being excited to analyse this experience using the best practices being taught in Wharton’s Leadership Development programmes. When I spoke about my solid competencies in credit risk analysis, I wrote about expanding these skills at Wharton, mastering the latest techniques for impact measurement etc.

    It’s obvious looking back at it, but those reflections were the result of about the 20th revision of my essays so …once again …the lesson is to start writing early and try to add something more each time. That being said, I’m heading back to my quiet spot to get writing!

    Best of luck!

  4. This is GREAT… You are clearly painting a great picture of Point A and Point B….

    Word of advice: last year I did the same thing… Where I failed was really focusing on the line that connects A to B and runs through them both…

    Why does this path make sense? Why do you need to go to business school? What are you going to do to get there? And it’s great you want to make a difference, but how are you making a difference now and how will you make a difference in the future?

    OBVIOUSLY, you have probably thought of these, and I’m not expecting you to put them in your blog…. But really make sure you color in that line… That’s what separates good candidates from the great ones IMHO…

    • I couldn’t agree more!! I really have to be mindful of emphasizing that connecting line because I’ve seen alot of posts from reapplicants about how that was one of their downfalls. It’s sometimes easy to forget because you just assume that its obvious, but you’re absolutely right, I need to make sure answering all those questions you just laid out is one of my main focuses.

      Thanks so much!! Saving this comment for future reference!!

  5. Ahh, you’ve tugged at my heartstrings simply because all your reasons just shine through and they’re so genuine and real. I would absolutely love to meet you in person, especially after reading this post. With a sister like you who cares this much, I’m sure your brother will receive the love and care that he deserves.

    As MBA on my mind said, this process is a road to self discovery and by all of us documenting this process, I feel like I know and understand a little bit more about what other people are going through… really hitting home the lesson of empathy. Our reasons do overlap quite a bit actually and that’s awesome since our backgrounds couldn’t be more different. I guess it goes to show that an MBA does attract very similar, goal-oriented, like minded people! 🙂

    • You are so sweet! And omg yes, I feel like we would be the best of friends

      And you nailed it!!! It’s crazy how different people can be on the outside, but what drives them internally can be so similar.

  6. Texaswannabecali, so many of your why’s’ resonate with my why’s’. While the application process is a becoming increasingly onerous, it is the best thing that has happened to me. It has literally become a journey to self discovery. I am soo grateful to have you and the rest of our blogger friends on this journey! 🙂

    I am so sorry about the condition your brother is in, I know what’s it’s like to see a family member go through a struggle. I am sending a truck load of positivity your way! It is so inspiring that this is what drives you to be in the field you have chosen to be in.

    More power to you!!

    • Aw thank you so much!!

      And I completely agree, I’ve learned so much about myself and what I really want to accomplish in life these past few months. Yall are awesome! I’m so excited what’s in store for everyone

Leave a Reply

