Sleep.. Wait, what is that Again?

Less than 3 months until my applications are due and panic mode is starting to set in.

With my manager being promoted to a partner of our firm, one senior consultant promoted to be the new manager of our team, the other leaving to work in the California office, and an associate consultant transferring to another team, projects for a staff of 5 went down to a staff of 2 (me and another consultant) rather quickly so my current state of overwhelm is quite the understatement. On one hand, I’m loving all of the responsibility I have, but on the other, mannnnnnnnnnn this couldn’t have happened at a worse possible time. I’m very fortunate that my new manager and I have a great relationship, so coming in a little late or leaving a little early doesn’t bother him as long as my work is finished, but with all the extra workload and travel obligations, it’s been quite the rollercoaster ride of emotions trying to balance everything along with GMAT studying and application prep.

Speaking of the oh so wonderful GMAT, my original plan was to retake the exam early October, but apparently I missed the memo about how far in advance you should schedule before slots are filled. I know…you’re probably thinking “well duh”, but in my defense, I would periodicly check the MBA site to see how long you could wait before selecting a date, and every single time, a week sufficed. But because my life is the epitome of Murphy’s Law, my target test date (which would’ve been today…sigh) was unavailable for both testing centers in my area by the time I felt moderately comfortable signing up. So with my calendar for the rest of October and the beginning of November in a state of pure chaos and no upcoming test dates matching my slim availability, my GMAT is going to be pushed super far back. I’m talking late November or December… YIKES! As frustrating as this was, I’ve learned that getting upset over things you inevitably cannot control leads to nothing but headaches and wrinkles, so I limited my rant fest to about 10 min then snapped back to reality and accepted it. Part of me wants to just accept my 680 and focus on the rest of my applications, but at the same time, I know myself, and I know that I will regret that decision if I end up getting dinged at all of my schools. Maybe that makes me incredibly stupid, but only time will tell. I’d rather feel confident that I did the best I could with no second guesses whatsoever, rather than wonder “what if” about anything. My main struggles with the GMAT aren’t really conceptual, but more so constantly making careless mistakes and letting my anxiety get the best of me which is still affecting my timing, so I hope that using more of my GMAT days to take mocks rather than simply study, will not only help me increase my score but also keep it consistent and not vary depending on my emotions that day.

Because I’m borderline psycho about planning, my calendar is now all labeled and color coded to reflect essay writing and editing days for each school, GMAT study days and which topics i’ll be reviewing, mock exam days, travel days, deadlines, and the works. I know I definitely have my work cut out for me, and I might even scale back to 3 schools if I feel too overwhelmed, but I feel alot better having a set plan laid out. These next 3 months are definitely going to be a test to my will power.

In other news, UCLA will finally be coming to Dallas soon which I’m obviously extremely excited about, especially since with my crazy work schedule, I’m no longer sure if I’ll be able to make a campus visit before January 😦 I’ve also been invited to attend McComb’s Women’s Weekend Forum in a few weeks which will be a great opportunity to not only make connections with students, alumni, professors, and adcom, but also get first hand experience of the MBA program and even some good essay material. The first night, there’s even a scheduled night out in Austin with the other attendees and current students so hopefully some cute boys tag along 😉 kidding kidding.

It’s obviously app season because the posts from everyone are coming few and far between, myself included, but I know that just means everyone’s hard at work to become 2015 MBA students. I must admit, this post has been sitting in my drafts for a few days now, but since I didn’t end up testing today and I already had the day off, I was finally able to take some time to put the finishing touches on it and update you guys. It’s much more difficult blogging during app season, than I realized it would be. Time is so precious these days. Anyways, I’m so so proud of the progress everyone has made thus far, and wish nothing but the best to each and every one of you. Also special congrats to Pulling That MBA Trigger for getting an interview invite from Fuqua!! If you haven’t congratulated her already, please do so. She’s kicking major ass!!

Also I would love to know writing schedules of those of you that have already submitted applications. I’ve heard writing a little each day helps, so is it protocol to write one essay per sitting and spend subsequent days editing? I couldn’t imagine writing a little here and a little there on an essay, once these fingers get to typing, they can’t be stopped until I’ve expressed everything I could. I’m sure that’s wishful thinking considering how intricate admission essays are, so suggestions are welcome 🙂

 

 

Posted on October 9, 2014, in My Journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hello! Loving your blog totally!!!! And I agree with you for the GMAT score. I took a cold attempt last month & scored a 650 (mainly because I had to leave for 15 minutes during Verbal owing to a nasty cough and I barely concentrated during the Quant as well.. damn Viral! 😦 ) I wanted to get the GMAT locked by September end.. Even though I’m pushing it too close by giving an attempt again on October 28th, I would have it no other way. I wanna at least give it a decent shot before I decide on the schools I should be applying to!!
    Being an Indian applicant, I cannot even consider R3. So I guess the next couple of months are going to be extremely grueling! I’m glad I found you as a R2 applicant! 🙂

    P.S: With just a week left for GMAT, I’ve decided not to spend time studying concepts. I’m doing the 6 tests from Manhattan, 2 GMAT Prep tests and all questions from the OG.. Any thoughts?

    • Yay! Thanks for checking it out 🙂 but oh no about sick during the exam 😦 I can only imagine how distracting that was but no worries, the next time around you’ll ace it!! I agree, since you’re taking it in the next few days, you still have a little over 2 months to prepare everything else. Plenty of time 🙂

      I think your plan is solid! Doing a lot of tests will really get you in a good rhythm as far as timing on the exam for sure and if you can identify any glaring weaknesses, you have just enough time to fix them. Good luck!!

  2. Oh boy, it sounds like you have a lot on your plate! Good luck with everything. I know how it is trying to balance MBA prep and work. These next few months are “go time” for MBA round 2 applicants. Sleep will be a luxury! 😉

  3. Oh my god B! I had no idea all this was happening. I guess all the extra work could be construed as a good thing – more essay fodder yay! But I cannot believe your commitment issues with the GMAT hahaha, why were you waiting right up until the last minute (or week) to book your slot?! What’s done is done though. Maybe all this extra time to prepare will push things in your favour. I’m sure a 680 will be enough to pull you through, but I totally get why you want to pull it up to a 700+ before applying. I know you can do it!

    Also, thank you for the shout out. I’m just here blushing in the corner. So for the essays, this is actually where I can help. I’m actually going to do an entire post about now that you mention it (thank you for the inspiration). Maybe that’ll give you an idea as to how to approach it 🙂 xx

    • I KNOW I’m absolutely ridiculous. I’m a perfectionist so I tend to panic and procrastinate when i don’t feel absolutely ready for something. Especially since I wasn’t able to devote as much time to it as originally planned because of work. But yes, the extra time will definitely help hopefully *fingers crossed*.

      And omg of course!! Can’t wait to hear the good news in a few weeks 😉

  4. Oh shoot!! Sorry about the unavailable slots ! 😦 It’s a little weird actually, during the september – November months, the slots seem to fill up real quick. I guess these few months provide optimal conditions for testing? LOL. However, with the additional prep time, a whole lot of room to take full length practice tests will open up for you. And I get it, a 680 is a fantastic score, but if you know heart of hearts a 700+ is something that you can achieve on the GMAT, the ONE thing that on your app you have absolute control over at this point. I say go for it ! I am rooting for you! 😀

    Congratulations on the additional responsibility, so proud!! It’s going to be crazy, but crazy good. Your essays will be that much richer from all the experience. Speaking of essays, I’ve been working on my essays for about a month now. Just like you, once I get down to typing, I just cannot be torn away from my computer. I am actually finding the essays a lot of fun, my career plan is a so much more lucid after this exercise. My suggestion would be -before you sit down with the essay question, list out your short term and long term goals clearly and as elaborately as possible ( the why’s, how’s). Also, before you dive in, very roughly have a few experiences in your life that really defined you or challenged you in someway, something you are proud of etc… you get my drift. For me personally, having these templates, so to speak, ready before I jumped into the essays really helped me, because I tend to digress. I hope this helps? All the best, love!

    • Yes that’s exactly how I feel about the GMAT as well. It’s the one thing you can do something about right now.. everything else is kind of “it is what it is” at this point so I really want to wow the adcom with a good score. It definitely sucks but my excitement about attending an MBA program outweighs my disdain for spending countless weekends in the library rather than on my couch watching mindless television lol

      Completely agree that writing the essays are the more enjoyable part of the app process. I kind of did what you said as far as creating broad templates for goals, experiences, etc before writing specific essays and it definitely helps! Just got to work on getting out the fluff and being in the word limit now.

      How’s studying/writing going for you? I’m glad I’m not the only one pulling double duty.Can’t wait to hear how your GMAT goes? Oct 31st right??

  1. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline: In the Thick of It - Clear Admit Blog

Leave a Reply

